BBC LINK
    When you told us to write blogs about things not pertaining to daily American life.  I don't think you meant it as broad as it came out.  A group of billionaires recently announced they would be "Saving humanity" by mining asteroids.  At first I was thinking they meant the moon, but then realized that they were going for the real thing.  Those big rocks hurdling through space at thousands of miles an hour, barren of life, and presumebly just rocks.  However, the group released a statement saying this new industry would "add trillions of dollars to the global GDP".  I'm not an expert on the global economy, but I believe that would probobly be enough to bring almost every single person above the poverty line if it is distributed evenly amongst the Earth.  They also released a statement telling how this would ensure humanity's prosperity.  This would basically become the next top industry if they really are correct and would completly redfine what we think of as a renewable/unrenewable natural resouce.  I still have no idea how they actually plan to get anything onto these asteroids without having it completely obliterated and better yet how they expect to get the rocks back to Earth!  The only reason I believe this is at all possible is because so many big  names are involved that this actually could turn into reality and become the next coolest thing since sliced bread!  
    I would also like to touch on the debate we had over the share all your money thing.  Something I realized when I was talking it all over with my dad is that his radical system would result in everyone becoming poor, not the poor becoming unpoor.  This is because people will realize that no matter how hard they work they will all receive the same amount of money.  This will cause them to become unmotivated and eventually just stop trying altogether and this will give way to the eventual



Leave a Reply.